Nursing school names new dean

December 13, 2011
Dr. Shelley F. Conroy

Following a nationwide search, Dr. Shelley F. Conroy, Ed.D., M.S., R.N., has been named as the new dean of the Louise Herrington School of Nursing at Baylor, effective Jan. 1, 2012.

Conroy has more than 25 years of experience in higher education, health care administration, and nursing and health care research. She joins Baylor from Armstrong Atlantic State University in Savannah, Ga., where she was dean, professor and a member of the graduate faculty of the College of Health Professions. Prior to that, she was dean of the Dr. Ezekiel R. Dumke College of Health Professions at Weber State University in Ogden, Utah, and dean for professional and technical studies at John Tyler Community College in Chester, Va. Before that, she spent 14 years in Florida, where she held positions in hospital administration and was a faculty member at the University of Central Florida and Valencia Community College.

She has a significant background in research, grants and sponsored projects. Some of these specialty areas include simulation training, critical incident stress, rural health outreach, nursing and health professions workforce preparation, curriculum development, and nursing externship. Her interests also include the impact of service and cultural immersion of student experiences in nursing education, psychological support for caregivers experiencing traumatic stress and moral distress, nursing practice competence and nursing policy issues. During her career, Conroy has been awarded more $6 million in grants and sponsored projects.

Conroy was a gubernatorial appointment to the Virginia Board of Nursing for eight years and served as president as well as chair of the Committee of the Joint Boards of Nursing and Medicine. This led to service with the National Council of State Boards of Nursing, where she was appointed to the Committee on Practice, Regulation and Education. During that time, she chaired the group that prepared the model standards for regulating nursing education.

Conroy fills the position left vacant when Dr. Judy Wright Lott, who served as dean of the school since 2002, decided to return to full-time teaching and research. Dr. Martha M. Bradshaw, BSN '70, professor of nursing, served as interim dean during the search.

Next spring, Conroy will invite members of the Baylor community in Dallas and other friends of the nursing school to join her for the Going for the Gold Gala, a dinner and silent auction to benefit endowed scholarships for Baylor nursing students.

Baylor women's basketball coach Kim Mulkey is the keynote speaker for the Gala and will be joined by special guest Troy Aikman, three-time Super Bowl Champion and Pro Football Hall of Fame member. Baylor alums Joel, BA '70, and Diane, BA '70, Allison; Joe, BBA '83, MBA '84, and Kelly, BBA '84, Armes; and Ron, BBA '75, and Cheryl, BA '75, Murff will chair the event, scheduled for April 14, 2012 at the Ritz-Carlton, Dallas.

For more information about the Gala or to reserve tickets, contact Stephanie Willey at (214) 820-4183 or