Hall of Fame

August 22, 2023

Organized in 1960, the Baylor Athletics Hall of Fame recognizes and honors individuals whose participation and contributions have enriched and strengthened the University’s athletics program.

The “B” Association Wall of Honor annually recognizes Baylor letterwinners and graduates whose meritorious accomplishments in public or private life following graduation have brought positive public recognition, credit and honor to the University. Below and on the adjacent page are the 2023 Baylor Hall of Fame inductees and Wall of Honor honoree.

Stan Curry, B.A. ’70, J.D. ’72
Men’s track and field (1967-69)

A two-time Southwest Conference champion in the high jump, Curry broke a conference record that had stood for 12 years with his winning mark of 6-11 ½ at the 1968 outdoor meet. Clearing 6-10 or better 20 times, including four of 6-11 or higher, Curry won the Drake Relays high jump title in 1968, the U.S. Track & Field Federation Championship in 1968 and the Texas Relays gold in 1969.

Sandy Forsythe Massey
Women’s track and field (1982-86)

After Baylor’s transition from AIAW to NCAA in 1982, Sandy Forsythe earned the first women’s track and field scholarship. She set school records in the 1,500 and 5,000 meters and still holds the program record in the 3,000. Named Baylor’s Outstanding Female Athlete as a senior in 1986, Forsythe Massey also was the school’s first female student-athlete to qualify for the NCAA Championships, making it in the 1,500, 3,000 and 5,000 that same year.

Denes Lukacs, B.A. ’13
Men’s tennis (2006-10)

A three-time singles All-American (2008-10), Lukacs was a part of a combined six Big 12 championships. He ranks No. 2 in career singles wins and single-season wins and is one of seven players in the Baylor 200-win club. The Hungarian native earned three top-15 season-ending rankings and finished with a flawless 8-0 NCAA Tournament match play record in singles.

Max Muncy
Baseball (2010-12)

Muncy earned Freshman All-America honors in 2010, when he hit .300 with a program freshman-record 11 home runs and 53 RBI. A two-time first-team All-Big 12 pick, he helped the Bears win the Big 12 regular-season championship and reach the NCAA Super Regionals in 2012. The Keller, Texas, native finished his Baylor career with a .315 batting average, 27 homers and 153 RBI. Drafted in the fifth round of the 2012 MLB Draft, Muncy is a two-time All-Star and won the World Series in 2020 with the Los Angeles Dodgers.

Pat Nunley, B.B.A. ’71, J.D. ’84
Men’s basketball (1977-81, broadcaster 1982-present)

Nunley, a four-year basketball letterman, had a stellar junior season, averaging a career-high 12.3 points and shooting 88.7% from the free throw line, a mark that still ranks No. 2 all-time. During his first year of law school at Baylor, he stepped directly into the broadcast role as a color analyst with Hall of Famer Frank Fallon. A career highlighted by the Bears’ 2021 national championship win he called with “Voice of the Bears” Assistant Athletics Director for Broadcasting John Morris, Nunley just finished his 41st season, the second-longest tenure of anyone currently calling Big 12 basketball.

Ken “Quiz” Quesenberry, B.B.A. ’76
Football (1973-75)

Quesenberry was a three-year starter at safety and an All-Southwest Conference selection for the “Miracle on the Brazos” champions in 1974. With 12 tackles and an interception, he also was named the Most Outstanding Defensive Player of the 1975 Cotton Bowl. Selected to the All-Decade Team of the 1970s for both Baylor and the Cotton Bowl, “Quiz” also won the Baylor Golden Helmet Award as the team’s Most Valuable Defensive Back in 1973 and the Bobby Jones Memorial leadership award as a senior.

Tiffany Townsend, B.S.Ed. ’12
Women’s track and field (2008-11)

With a program-record 17 All-America honors, Townsend has nearly twice as many as any other Baylor female track and field student-athlete. As a senior in 2011, she finished third in the 200 meters at the NCAA Indoor and NCAA Outdoor Championships and also had podium finishes in the indoor 60 meters and outdoor 100 meters. Named to Baylor’s 25-for-25 and Co-Track Athlete of the Decade (2010-19), Townsend still holds the school record in the indoor 60 meters.

J.D. Walton, B.A. ’09
Football (2007-09)

Named a first-team All-American as a senior in 2009, Walton also was a finalist for the Rimington Trophy, given annually to the nation’s best collegiate center. The Allen, Texas, native started 36 consecutive games for the Bears, paving the way for Robert Griffin III, Jay Finley and company to rush for 2,349 yards in 2008. Graduating with a degree in speech communications in 2009, Walton was a third-round draft pick by Denver, where he started 52 of the 56 games he played over six seasons with Denver, New York, Washington and San Diego.

George Chandler, B.A. ’60, L.L.B. ’62
Men’s tennis (1958-60), Wall of Honor

Chandler, who came to Baylor on a tennis scholarship and earned team MVP honors in 1960, graduated from Baylor Law School in 1962. He started his career with a personal-injury firm in Corpus Christi, Texas, and opened his own law firm in 1971 in Lufkin, Texas. Recognized as one of the Top 100 Super Lawyers in Texas, Chandler was named the Baylor Lawyer of the Year in 2009 and a Texas Legal Legend in 2014 by the State Bar of Texas. George and his wife, Martha, B.A. ’61, received the 2015 Legacy Award for extraordinary service and philanthropy to Baylor.

Beginning with the inaugural 1960 class, 265 honorees have been elected or already enshrined in the Hall of Fame, with the “B” Association Wall of Honor now standing at 32 selections.

The Hall of Fame and Wall of Honor recipients will be honored at a Nov. 3, banquet in the Cashion Academic Building on Baylor campus and on the field at McLane Stadium during the Baylor-Houston football game Saturday, Nov. 4.

For more information or for tickets to the event, visit bearfoundation.baylorbears.com or
call 254-710-3045.