Men's 4x400 Relay Claims Fourth Straight National Title

September 2, 2008

Earlier this summer, the vaunted Baylor 4x400-meter relay team brought home its fourth straight national championship. The quartet of Marcus Boyd, Justin Boyd, LeJerald Betters and Quentin Iglehart-Summers clocked a season-best time of 3:00.22 in the NCAA Outdoor finals, the second-fastest in Baylor history and the fifth-fastest in NCAA history.

Only once has a school ever won more than four straight titles in the event; between 1990-92, Baylor won five straight national championships. Overall, the Bears have won 10 outdoor 4x400-meter relay titles to go alongside the program's eight indoor wins. 

The feat of winning both indoor and outdoor mile relay championships in the same season, as the Bears did this year, has only happened 11 times in the 44-year history of running both indoor and outdoor national meets. Baylor has been responsible for five of those occurrences (1990, 1991, 2004, 2007, 2008).