January 18, 2005

Rudd named TPA officer

M. David Rudd, professor and department chair of psychology and neuroscience, has been named president-elect of the Texas Psychological Association. He will serve as president-elect in 2005-06 and as president in 2006-07. He currently is president of the American Association of Suicidology and chair of the Texas State Board of Examiners of Psychologists. 

M. David Rudd

New Master Teachers

President Robert B. Sloan Jr. awarded the designation of Master Teacher -- the highest honor granted to Baylor faculty members -- to Rachel Moore, senior lecturer of English; J. William Petty, holder of The W.W. Caruth Chair of Entrepreneurship and professor of finance; Alden Smith, chair of the classics department and director of the Honors Program; William Thomas, The J.E. Bush Professor in Accounting; and William Underwood, The Leon Jaworski Professor of Practice and Procedure at Baylor Law School. 

Engineering student tops

Engineering student Eric Green, a senior from Sugar Land, Texas, has been selected as one of the top five senior engineering students in the United States by Eta Kappa Nu, the national electrical and computer engineering honor society. Green also was recognized as the spring 2004 outstanding student in engineering at Baylor. As he finishes his undergraduate degree with a math minor, he has begun work on a master's degree in biomedical engineering. Green plans to attend law school after finishing his master's degree at Baylor to train as an intellectual property attorney. 

Six receive Reynolds Award

The Herbert H. Reynolds Award for exemplary service was presented to Thomas Earl and Emilyne Weed Anding; Rufus B. Spain, professor emeritus of history and director of the Baylor Retired Professors/Administrators Program; the family of the late Baylor biology professor, F. Ray Wilson II; Lois M. Sutton; and James E. Wood Jr. The award, established by the 1981 senior class, honors those who have distinguished themselves by adding to the heritage and tradition of Baylor through service and dedication to students. 

Model UN Team honored

The Baylor Model United Nations team received the Best Small Delegation award at the University of Pennsylvania Model United Nations Conference, marking the second year in a row that the Baylor team has taken the top small delegation award. 
Baylor competed against 60 other schools, including Harvard, Yale, West Point and the University of Chicago. 

Lake goes to Belmont

Todd L. Lake, dean for University Life, has resigned to become the new vice president for spiritual development at Belmont University in Nashville, Tenn. Under Lake and his staff, University Ministries began new initiatives in intentional Christian ministry, including Baylor's resident chaplain program, discipline-specific mission trips and service-learning opportunities.