February 12, 2003

Dr. Judy Wright Lott was named dean of the Louise Herrington School of Nursing Dec. 20. The associate professor of nursing had served as acting dean since June 15, following the retirement of Dr. Phyllis Karns.
Baylor's annual Endowed Scholarship Society Banquet will be April 4. The event gives scholarship recipients the opportunity to meet the donors who endowed their scholarships. In 2001-02, the University had 3,160 recipients.
The Allbritton Art Institute's spring lecture will be at 4 p.m. March 26. Dr. Caroline Boyle Turner, professor of art history at Rhode Island School of Design and director of the Pont-Aven School of Art in Brittany, France, will lecture on "Gauguin: In Search of the Exotic."
Inventor and chemist James Heath, a 1984 Baylor chemistry graduate and contributor to the discovery of the "Bucky Ball," was named by Scientific American as one of its "Top 50 Visionaries" in the magazine's December 2002 edition.
The Baylor family donated more than 64,000 pounds of nonperishable food items during the largest one-day food drive in Texas. "Food for Families" was held Nov. 22 and netted 437 tons of food.
A limited edition replica of the Liberty Bell was presented to Baylor's Ollie Mae Moen Discovery Center by members of Guaranty Bank, formerly First Federal Savings, in early November. The bell was purchased by Harry Jeanes, Baylor regent emeritus and former chair and CEO of First Federal Savings.
The Honorable P. Oswin "Os" Chrisman, BA '57, JD '59, has been named interim executive vice president of the Baylor Alumni Association. He currently serves as an arbitrator and mediator for Judicial Arbitration Mediation Services in Dallas and as a distinguished professor and lecturer at Dallas Baptist University.